The Ruins at Bacolod

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If you’re ever in BacolodPhilippines, make sure you swing by The Ruins of the Lacson Mansion.  The mansion was built by sugar baron Don Mariano Ledesma Lacson for his wife in the early 1900’s.  When World War II started, the guerrillas burned it down to keep it from falling into the hands of the Japanese.  The structure and material were of such quality that the framework still stands to this day.   It is a lovely reminder of a bygone era.   Today, the site is used for weddings, birthdays, coming out parties and general picture-taking.

67 responses to “The Ruins at Bacolod

  1. I really like your ‘ruins’ slideshow – hauntingly beautiful, and captured perfectly in B&W. What camera equipment do you use for architecture ? I am working with a very modest compact at the moment, but hoping to buy a Canon 5D mk 3 very soon. Researching lenses at the moment, and not sure I can afford a T&S lens…..
    Thanks for visiting my Ronda photos !

    • Thank you for your kind words. I love architecture photography but am more comfortable with street / candid photography.

      I have to say that my gear is relatively modest, as well. Its an entry-level Canon 600D with the kit lenses (18-55mm and 75-300mm).

      You have a great blog. Will definitely be visiting you from time to time. 🙂

      • Thanks for that – Richert…I think that a person’s vision and creativity counts a lot towards the final result. I will start with a good quality zoom and get the feel of the camera. I can always expand my range once I gain more experience. It will be interesting to see whether the difference in quality will be noticeable on my blog ? I believe the important factor of the new camera will be increased versatility – I’m very excited !

  2. Been there too and it is haunting. The grounds around it are also lovely. Went during the rainy season and everything was so green and in the middle was the ruins, which somehow looks so majestic and yet lonely, too. 🙂

    • Hahaha. That’s the beauty of photography and art, in general, it is open to the viewer’s interpretation and it is never wrong. It is probably even creepier at night. 😉

    • My pleasure. I found your blog to be very interesting and enlightening. Thank you for the kind words.

  3. Pingback: Laag 37: Bacolod City « Laagan na Cebuana

  4. Thank you for sharing your beautiful photos. And thank you also for visiting my blog, and by doing so giving me a chance to visit your blog.
    Ciao, Francina

    • It was my pleasure. I hope to visit again. I have started by looking at your photography and will go on to your poetry from there. You have very nice work on there. I am also glad you enjoyed my pictures. Thank you very much.

    • Thank you! Yes, the grounds lend themselves for some great wedding shots. It is a popular place for weddings and other events.

  5. Your pictures are beautiful , I have a fascination with urban decay photography especially abandoned theme parks , mansions and ruins, generally the pictures have a creepy feeling to them but these really show the beauty of the ruins.

    • Thank you very much for commenting. I also enjoy urban decay photography and agree. There is something very interesting about how nature reclaims the structures we decide to abandon. These ruins are special in that they have been ‘kept up’ and sort of serve as a monument to the past. 🙂

    • Hi Kat, I agree. Having both color and black and white, I can state that it definitely has more dramatic appeal in the later. Thanks for visiting and commenting. 🙂

  6. Your pictures are breathtaking. I can see you find the beauty where ever you go. Thank you for sharing. I will be following your posts and looking for more pictures of places around the world. I like the history and stories behind the photos they give them meaning. Take care and keep blogging.

    • Thank you very much for your kind words. Welcome to my blog and, if you are ever curious regarding any of the pictures, feel free to drop a line or comment. 🙂

    • It was my pleasure. I definitely enjoyed the arches in your images. Capturing the view out of an arch always leads to an interesting image. Thanks for visiting.

    • Thank you Tarina. I was hoping to give it a special feel with the black and white. I’m glad you liked it. 🙂

    • True…throughout history men have built enduring monuments to their loves. Its a very beautiful place. i can only imaging what it looked like in its heyday, Thank you for visiting… 🙂

      • I could dream for days wondering what it looked like in completion.
        You’re welcome. I enjoyed my visit. 🙂

  7. The feelings these images evoke are fabulous. What a stunning piece of architecture and captured beautifully. If I ever get to the Philippines this will be on my short list to visit.

    • Thank you very much for your kind words. I definitely recommend The Philippines to anyone who wishes to see beautiful sites and even more beautiful people. 🙂

  8. Hi! Thanks for liking one of Blog it UP post! You have here a great blog too. Keep following us and will do too 🙂 have a good day