Weekly Photo Challenge: Near and Far

The lighthouse stands firm against the weather.

On a recent trip to The Philippines, I asked a friend (Kudos to you, Leon) for a nice place to take pictures in Dumaguete.  He recommended Tierra Alta.  It was an incredible find.  The place is a residential complex up on a mountainside about 30 minutes or so from the Dumaguete Promenade.

 Tierra Alta is Spanish for “highland” and, as you can see from the picture above, it was aptly named.

So close, all you have to do is reach out and grab a cloud…

Hope to go back for the night view,  I have heard that it’s incredibly beautiful at sunset.

29 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Near and Far

  1. I love light houses! I’m not sure how I’ve missed seeing pictures of this one before, but your photo is a great shot! The external staircase is really a unique feature.

    • Thank you very much. I’m glad you enjoyed them. Also, thank you for the follow. Hope to not let you down. 🙂

  2. Love the lighthouse, although these are all fabulous. You’re first post in August could have also qualified for this Near/Far challenge. The shot is very cool, with the mountain far away. Thanks for stopping by my blog. Gave me the opportunity to see yours :-).

    • Glad you liked the picture. I personally liked the one with the cloud covered mountain peaks but this one is also a nice scene. It is such a beautiful place. I liked your blog. Your “Back to School” picture reminded me of my sister who’s a teacher. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

    • Thank you Faye. Tierra Alta is definitely a great place for picture taking. Thank you for commenting. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Near And Far Part 2 | imexcited

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Near And Far. « the unbearable lightness of being me.

  5. It’s absolutely breathtaking, Kris. I didn’t know what I was missing till i got there. I will probably post a couple of more times on The Philippines and then focus a bit on Latin America. Please do not be a stranger. I love the comments. 🙂

  6. I have traveled all around Latin America (and LOVE it) but lately I´m eager to see Asia… your pictures lately are making me really want to go!