Welcome to my first post….

Welcome to my first post. I wanted to share with you some of the places I have visited and some of the people I have met. Hope you will overlook the rookie mistakes and share your thoughts with me.

Without a doubt, one of the most beautiful places I have been to is a colonial city in Guatemala called “La Antigua”. It is also sometimes just referred to “Antigua” which can be translated into English to mean old, ancient or, even, antique. Translate it any way you like, the translation will certainly fail to convey the beauty of this exotic place in the central highlands of Guatemala that, since 1979, has been designated as a UNESCO world heritage site.

In case you’re wondering, YES, that is a dormant volcano in the background. It’s called “El Volcan del Agua” and has lain dormant since the mid 1500’s. It dominates the local surroundings providing a very romantic background to lovers and tourists alike. Even though it is currently inactive, it was responsible for destroying La Antigua (the previous capital city) in 1541. The capital was later moved to Guatemala City following this disaster.

Beautiful, don’t you agree?

25 responses to “Welcome to my first post….

  1. Thanks for visiting. Wow, I’m so impressed. You only started a little while ago and have such a following! Very nice. I gotta get with it…I’m growing very slowly, but having a blast. 🙂

    • Thanks for the complement. Fun is really the key, I think. There are so many excellent, beautiful blogs out there. I visit different ones everyday and try to learn from what I see. I just love it. 🙂

  2. Hi Rich,

    Thank you for sharing your travel with us.

    Literally being “on the other side of the world”, these pictures gave me some views of how places and things are while the descriptive words have helped to better envision what the place feels like. One impression and thought that I like is the serenity of the place and the ease of capturing the “complete” view. I’ve seen the growth and I am witnessing the continuing development of my surroundings (that is the buildings to be exact) and so in some occasions have I asked if we ever noticed that nowadays, rarely can we capture a city picture where both the street and the sky are contained in a single frame without the use of extra type of camera lenses (or rather, to really move far back if we only have the regular ones)?

    There are also a number of ideas and memories that came into my mind with the trip you’ve shared…the cobblestones vs. the current asphalt and cement roads, my college trip to Vigan City, on work and vacations… but the parts which I liked were on how you emphasized at the positive aspects of the trip and best, the TOUR GIFT.

    Keep it up!

    • Hi Faye and welcome to my blog…

      I’m glad my post was able to evoke feelings and memories in you. On my trips to The Philippines, I have seen a lot of Latin America. This might be due to the fact we share a common past or heritage. This is especially true when you leave the cities and you go into the villages. We not only share some vocabulary, we also share certain foods and architecture.

      I’m counting the days till I can go back. 🙂

      Thank you for the kind words.

      Rich

  3. Nice picture Richert. I was there a few years ago a part of a church trip for Easter. It was definitely a beautiful occasion. I remember being very impressed with the penitents dressed in purple and the wonderful smell of incense. Are you going to be blogging only about Guatemala?

    Look forward to reading more on your pictures.

    • Thanks for your encouraging commenting, Joe. Funny you should mention the penitents because they were the first people that captured my interest in Antigua. They undoubtedly impressed me as they did you and pretty much for the same reasons. While I began blogging about La Antigua, I will also be blogging about other countries in Latin America and even The Philippines. Stay tuned!

    • Thanks Julian. I plan on going back this year and will put up some more pictures. Its a lovely town.

  4. Very beautiful Richie! I loved reading about some of Antigua’s history. Thank you for sharing. Looking forward to more.